books

While making my little red journal (pictured in an earlier post), my mom asked me if i felt awful gutting it so that i could use the cover. My answer: “No.” I know that may sound horridly brash and disrespectful, but its the truth. I love books, covers and words. In the case of my journal, i had not read the book, and had no particular interest in reading it, but the cover was so becoming. I think it is special to take the binding of one person’s thoughts and hard work, and create for ones-self, a little spot to record the things important to you. It feels like reading, writing, or studying in a library. All of the books on the shelves seem to lend themselves to the my intellect – enabling be to calm myself and think a bit more clearly.

I was informally invited to join the ladies of Calvary Chapel San Luis Obispo for their winter craft boutique. If i join them i think i’ll include some journals among my wares. Now i get to go on a hunt for charming book covers to lovingly upcycle.

November 7, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

